Dovizioso wins the wet Malaysia MotoGP race

Yet another wet race of the season brought us the ninth race winner of the season. Andrea Dovizioso took victory in Sepang after taking the lead away from Valentino Rossi with just 5 laps to spare.

shiftndrive Malaysia MotoGP 2016 nine winners

We witnessed an incredibly diverse race in Moto2 with parts of the track completely soaked and others starting to dry. It was a sign of an intense MotoGP race to follow.

The start of Malaysia MotoGP race was postponed by 20 minutes due to a heavy downpour and due to TV restrictions shortened by a lap.

shiftndrive Malaysia MotoGP 2016 wet pitlane

Race began with one of the most frantic starts this season, as the lead group of six riders tussled around, switching positions practically by the minute.

As the championship was already decided, we could see an all-out battle with all riders going strong, not letting go even for a moment and not thinking about tactics regarding championship points.

Andrea Iannone returned strong from his back injury and was in the lead for most of the 19 lap race, exchanging blows with Rossi numerous times before being passed by his teammate Dovizioso. The Ducati rider took advantge of Rossi’s mistake and took the lead. Dovizioso was gaining time quickly and Valentino was unable to catch the fellow countryman.

Marc Marquez, Cal Crutchlow and Jorge Lorenzo were slowly starting to lose pace with the top three riders but fought their own battle in the back.

After putting up an amazing performance, Iannone sadly crashed out of the race. He was quickly followed by the Phillip Island winner and difficult condition magician Cal Crutchlow as well as the reigning world champion Marc Marquez. After the two put themselves out of the race, Jorge Lorenzo climbed back to 3rd, rounding up the Malaysian podium.

Marquez still rejoined the race and finished 11th. Suzuki riders put up a pretty mediocre performance, with Maverick Viñales finishing in 6th and his teammate Aleix Espargaro finished in 13th position.

shiftndrive Malaysia MotoGP 2016 Maverick Vinales team pit

The battle for next season Ducati GP17 bike was also decided as Scott Redding finished 15th while his teammate Danilo Petrucci just caught the top ten.

Malysia MotoGP race results:

1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 42m 27.333s
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 42m 30.448s
3. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 42m 39.257s
4. Hector Barbera ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 42m 47.249s
5. Loris Baz FRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 42m 48.686s
6. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 42m 50.265s
7. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 53.162s
8. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 43m 0.079s
9. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 43m 1.037s
10. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 43m 1.613s
11. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 43m 3.813s
12. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 43m 3.971s
13. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 43m 4.230s
14. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 43m 12.942s
15. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 43m 17.112s
16. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 43m 19.998s
17. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 43m 20.117s
18. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 43m 22.224s
Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) DNF
Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF
Yonny Hernandez COL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) DNF

Anze Hribar

Add comment

Recent Comments