Crutchlow storms Phillip Island, Rossi surprises with second place!

After Friday afternoon practice was cancelled due to the rough weather, the rain was hammering down on the Australian circuit, it seemed we were in for another rainy MotoGP race.

shiftndrive cal crutchlow phillip island 2016 motogp snd

Luckily the gods of thunder were merciful and the race was completely dry, with track temperatures reaching up to 36 degrees Celsius. After an amazing qualifying run that got him to pole position, Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) proved that his win in Brno wasn’t just luck and that he is a rider we will be writing more about in the coming season.

It was a Grand Prix race filled with adrenaline

After the start of the race Marc Marquez took the lead and was going strong, pulling away lap after lap. At the begging of the race weekend Marc stated he will race at the edge and he stayed true to his word, putting up a breathtaking performance. Unfortunately he found himself on the wrong side of the edge and slid out of the race at the Honda corner.

shiftndrive marc marquez phillip island 2016 motogp snd

Marc Marquez crashes hard – Cal takes the lead

Error by the reigning world champion allowed Cal Crutchlow to hop in to a comfortable first position taking the checkered flag with 4 seconds to spare. Rossi was hot in pursuit, but after a disastrous qualifying session he started from 15th place. His efforts just weren’t enough to catch Cal, but Valentino still finished in second place.

shiftndrive valentino rossi phillip island 2016 motogp snd

The final podium position was claimed by the upcoming MotoGP star, Maverick Vinales, who was also starting from the back of the pack, 13th position on the grid.

Four riders got a DNF in Australia MotoGP race, Hector Barbera, Aleix Espargaro, Loris Baz and the already mentioned Marc Marquez.

Australia Phillip Island Moto GP results:

1.Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 40m 48.543s
2.Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 40m 52.761s
3.Maverick ViñalesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 53.852s
4.Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 40m 57.700s
5.Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 2.842s
6.Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 8.668s
7.Scott ReddingGBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 41m 16.912s
8.Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 17.324s
9.Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 41m 17.335s
10.Jack MillerAUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 41m 17.358s
11.Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 41m 20.352s
12.Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 41m 36.277s
13.Yonny HernandezCOL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 41m 36.292s
14.Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 41m 42.854s
15.Mike JonesAUS Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 41m 44.418s
16.Tito RabatESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 41m 54.938s
17.Nicky HaydenUSA Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 42m 11.147s
Hector BarberaESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) DNF
Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) DNF
Loris BazFRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) DNF

Anze Hribar

Add comment

Recent Comments